At the sunrise Easter service I attended yesterday, my pastor threatened people opposed to our church with a quote from rapper Ice Cube: “You picked the wrong folk to mess with.”

The title of my pastor’s sermon was “How to Handle a Public Lynching.” Appropriately, then, he coupled his Ice Cube quote with a little touch of blasphemy, saying that a fellow church member of mine who had …

… likened the U.S. to the Ku Klux Klan and declared it damned for its “state-sponsored terrorism,” is facing the same challenges Jesus did. “No one should start a ministry with lynching, no one should end their ministry with lynching,”

I don’t really attend Trinity United Church of Christ, where Barack Obama is a member and where these comments constituted the main points in the Easter morning message on the resurrection of Christ.

But if this sermon sounds a little off to you, you must be a “typical white person.” You see, as Barack has also said, “if you go there on Easter on this Easter Sunday and you sat down there in the pew you would think this is just like any other church.”

For some reason, I had thought that Easter Sunday was about Christ’s death and miraculous resurrection, providing salvation to all of humanity, blacks and whites, through God’s amazing saving grace.

My mistake, Messiah. My mistake.

